Layers of Earth

Layers of Earth"

Earth has three layers. In the center there is hot core which is 1200km thick. The core is made of solid nickel and iron. Then there is layer of super heated metals and molten rocks called mantle. Mantle is 2900 km thick. The temperature of mantle can rise up to 1900 degree celsius. Then there is crust, the surface of the Earth. This is the layer where we walk and live our usual life. Crust is made of rock which is 6.5 km thick. It is less than 1% of total mass of Earth.